Dreams of Flying

We all know that a dream is a collection of images and ideas that occur involuntarily while we’re asleep; sometimes dreams don’t make sense but other times they weave together a great story or a crazy nightmare.

Photo Courtesy Jo

Photo Courtesy Jo

It is in the (REM) stage of sleep where vivid dreams occur. The amygdala, the area of the brain responsible for processing emotions, and the hippocampus, the seat of memory, are both active when you’re dreaming, and REM dreams are the ones we remember. When doing brain scans on subjects during REM sleep, scientists have found the visual center of the brain, the area that processes all the new information while we are awake is shut down. We don’t remember all our dreams but does our brain store them as memories and do those memories influence our conscious decisions, thinking and behavior in any way?

What is the purpose of dreams? Do they help us prepare for change, help us cope with loss or understand new experiences? Sometimes maybe they just inspire us! Like this dream I’ve had of flying. The last time I had a dream of flying – it was exhilarating and fun! I was able to control my flight and fly to wherever I wanted, I felt invincible. It was a time in my life when I was working really hard towards fulfilling a big dream goal of mine, so the dream kind of made sense, and I did go on to accomplish that goal. And I felt the same feelings I felt in that dream when I did. I haven’t dreamed of flying in years now, but just had the same dream again a couple of weeks ago, as I stand at a similar place again, working towards accomplishing some dream goals. This dream of flight is like an old familiar friend inspiring and encouraging me, believing in me, telling me I will rise above everything and fly on the wings of success, faith and love!

